Alvarez Artist Series

aullucci
Reactions:

Any owners/users here who could chime in with personal experiences?

I've spent quarantine playing my acoustic way more than I ever have before, and my only acoustic currently is a parlor sized Gretsch. I like it, but being parlor sized has its limitations. I've slowly been trying to stop in a try as many different models as I can, because I have little experience with acoustics and there are a crap ton of them in my price range - I'm as cheap as it is possible for a human being to be, but I'd put my budget at $500 for discussion purposes. Based on my limited research, I've come to the following conclusions.

I don't like the dread shape, it's just not that comfy for me. I much prefer the grand auditorium shape for comfort. And I have the parlor, so I'm not trying to get a 000 or some other small body type.

I like the sound of every Yamaha I play, but my fat fingers do not love the necks. I played a few different of the 800 series and I really thought they sounded good. But the necks were not for me. I didn't care for either of the D'Angelicos I played. They looked great, sounded meh.

I liked almost all of the Breedloves I played. I thought they sounded great, looked great and felt great. I like the Seagull S6 too, but it's the wrong shape for me...

I kinda fell in love with the Alvarez Artist guitars (the AG60/70 models). They're like $400. And the only sub-$1000 guitar I played that I liked as much was one of the Alvarez Artist Elite, which is like $599. Solid cedar top, Macassar ebony back and sides. Looks a dream (see below). Played like it too.
image.png
image.png
So, while I wrestle with whether to choose between the regular artist and the Elite, I was hoping anyone else could chime in with their experiences. Are they as well built as they are good looking? Anything anyone can share is appreciated.
fullonshred
Reactions: