Thoughts on music and money/.....

Post All Your Unrelated Stuff Here.
mindwave
Reactions:
Gearlist: LOTS

Yours actually.

I would LOVE to hear from folks who actually earn money playing music or in soem other form of personally creative endevor.

How do you feel about copywright laws and the way they rarely work out for performers?

Listening to |Heroin Diaries" Or whatever it was that Nicki Sixx titled his 'whibubg, tome of self loathing "poor poor pitiful me| substance abuse.

Hpowever he did enlighten me to something I was unaware of. Aparently smetime after girls girls girls, he was able to get Elektra to give him back all his masters and rights.

Now the reason I find THAT interesting is because of something that I am guilty of indulging in, but hadnt really thought much about until recently.
Besides IT Support for Healthcare, Im a writer, Ive published 3 books, and I have 6 more in the hopper. I write to support my teaching, not because Im looking for a best seller.
HOWEVER for truly creative people I have to wonder about something:

Jimi Hendrix - very talented dude, did somethnig new with an instrument taht had beena round for a few hundred years. But he died pretty young.

He recorded what 5 maybe 6 albums? Average 14 songs a disk?

How do I have 118 "officially licensed by Experience Hendrix Foundation CD's"? - and that is a very rough estimate. I have digitized my entire collection and I actually have over 3500 songs in his folder.

Now if you listen to the representative from "Experience Hendrix Foundation" these are unique insites and listening experiences into one of musics most quickly lived artists. Some of these cuts are just that, some are recordings of Mitch sneaing into the john with a recorder while jimi gives it to the secretary, well ok maybe not the bathroom, but thats what it sounds like!