Recording Acoustic Guitar, mic vs piezo

Discuss your Recording Environment, OS, DAW and Hardware with members.
littlebadboy
Reactions:

I thought of trying to record my acoustic using my interface! I have never recorded my playing on an acoustic guitar before!

So, here it is! Recording Acoustic Guitar mic vs piezo through a Behringer UMC204HD interface! Bear in mind that I am not an expert in playing guitars or recording.

Here are the gear involved...

I am not much into acoustic guitars. I learned to play guitar on an electric. This is the only acoustic guitar I have, an Ovation Celebrity. It has its own pickup (piezo?) and preamp.

I am using a Pyle PDMIC78 ("inspired" by the Shure SM57) positioned 12"-16" in front of the 12th fret, a Pyle PDMIC58 ("inspired" by the Shure SM58) positioned by the bottom right of the bridge, plugged directly into a Behringer UMC204HD interface.

Image Image Image

Kindly excuse my playing. I'm feeling lazy and not much of an acoustic player. It hutrs my fingers. Backing track is a small part of my work-in-progress composition, "Summer fading" or something...

Mic'ed acoustic guitar:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/muvutshi1l52jew/summer fades Acoustic Plain.mp3?dl=0

This is a recording of the guitar plugged directly into the interface. For some reason, it only comes out through the right channel. I am not much familiar with my interface, I rarely use it.

Acoustic guitar recorded straight into interface via piezo pick up:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6qmygu7plenjpjj/summer fades piezo.mp3?dl=0

I mentioned that I have not recorded an acoustic guitar before. No post EQ'ing as I do not know how to. Guitar tracks are dry with no effects.

Then... I joined the mic'd (left) and piezo (right) tracks together, and here ya go!

Comments? Thoughts?
Spike
Reactions:

I loved the tune, great vibe. The acoustic tone sounded good as well. I didn't click on the dropbox links to listen to the isolated tracks so I can't comment on those.