Digital Recorder

Discuss your Recording Environment, OS, DAW and Hardware with members.
Stoli
Reactions:
Gearlist: Agile 3100 MCC
Eastman TB 486
Jay Turser 220
Gretsch Jim Dandy
SX Ash Telecaster
SX Ash Thinline Stratocaster
Fender GT-40 Amp

I am looking to buy an inexpensive digital recorder for mostly practice purposes. I am new to playing "out" with other people but have found some folks to play with as part of a church band from time to time and I played with them for the first time this past Sunday. We got together several times to work on the song in preparation and I thought it sounded good when we delivered. I was just playing rhythm guitar. I had played a few times with another band that plays little bars and restaurants but they are not people that I can routinely practice with and I am not experienced or skilled enough to just wing it very well. I think I much prefer playing with the folks that I can practice with. Two are former touring musicians and know their stuff and my role is pretty small. I am looking for something that can do the following.

1. Record a keyboard generated drum track set to BPM with possibly piano. When we work on the next song if I could get that basic track after the first time that we practice then I have a track at the BPM that we are playing at and do not get off in the weeds so much when practicing by myself. Seems like it does not matter how much I practice by myself, if I do not have that beat laid down, I get faster or slower and then I mess up the tempo the first take the next time we practice. I used a metronome some when I practiced but it would have been much better having the drums and piano as the piano came in on a different beat.

2. Easily convert the files to an MP3 format or preferably record in that format.